Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Rhode Island?
- Where to get a car inspection in Rhode Island
- How often do you need a car inspection in Rhode Island?
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
All vehicles in Rhode Island are subject to safety and emissions checks every two years, and VIN checks when the car is first registered in the state.
Inspection stickers are mandatory for all cars registered in Rhode Island and have to be renewed every other year. If you fail to meet requirements, you could face fines or be prevented from registering your vehicle.
So, to help you avoid any major mishaps or minor trouble, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has put together a comprehensive guide on car inspection laws in Rhode Island.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Rhode Island?
Emissions tests are mandated for most cars in the state and have to be renewed every two years. A verification sticker must be visibly placed on the car once the check is complete.
Safety checks are also required and often happen at the same time as an emissions test. The price for the two tests is often bundled together.
VIN checks will also be run when residents move to Rhode Island and are registering their vehicle for the first time. This doesn’t apply to vehicles more than 20 years old.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Exceptions to the state requirements
Although inspection mandates are relatively thorough in Rhode Island, some vehicles are exempt from testing requirements, such as:
- Electric vehicles
- Vehicles more than 25 years old
- Vehicles out of state at the time when the inspection is required—such as when a college student is attending school in a different state
Where to get a car inspection in Rhode Island
There are 25 licensed stations spread out across the state. They can be found here.
How often do you need a car inspection in Rhode Island?
You need to get vehicle inspections every other year in Rhode Island. However, it may be worth getting one done annually, as you never know what issues might arise.
Finding affordable car insurance
Once you’ve completed all of your inspection requirements, it might be time to review your car insurance policy. You may have a good deal, but we’re willing to bet that you can do better. Try using Jerry to put a dollar sign on how much you can save!
A licensed broker, Jerry generates quotes from over 50 top insurers in under 60 seconds. In less than a minute, you can see offers from State Farm, GEICO, Progressive, and other household names. And Jerry works, too! The average user saves $879 per year on car insurance.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car in Rhode Island?
No, it’s not legally required that you get an inspection prior to selling your car in Rhode Island. Still, it might be the best move for you, especially if you’re trying to show that your vehicle is in good working order.
How much do car inspections in Rhode Island cost?
Vehicle emissions and safety inspections can be bundled for $55.