Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Pennsylvania?
- Where to get a car inspection in Pennsylvania
- How often do you need a car inspection in Pennsylvania?
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
Every vehicle in Pennsylvania is required to undergo a safety test every year. Meanwhile, emissions checks are mandated in some counties.
VIN checks are also mandatory for all new drivers in the state who are registering their vehicle for the first time. This is typically a one-time check to ensure the vehicle and driver information match up.
Failure to meet inspection requirements could lead to fines and blemishes on your driving record—or even a block on your registration. To help you avoid any hiccups, the car insurance broker and comparison app Jerry has put together everything you need to know about car inspections in Pennsylvania.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Pennsylvania?
Emissions tests are required in the following Pennsylvania counties:
Although a few counties don’t require them, an emissions test might be a good idea anyway! They’re good for the environment and they help ensure the safety and general health of your car.
Safety checks, meanwhile, are required statewide and must be completed once per year. They usually happen at the same time you re-register or service your vehicle.
New residents to Pennsylvania must run a VIN test before they can register their vehicle. Once their VIN is cleared, they have 10 days to get a safety inspection before they can legally drive in the state.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Exceptions to the state requirements
While mandates are reasonably rigorous in Pennsylvania, there are a few vehicles that are exempt from requirements:
- Vehicles driven less than 5,000 miles and less than a year old
- New vehicles that were driven less than 5,000 miles
- Vehicles with antique, collectible, or classic vehicle registrations
- Vehicles registered as street rods
Where to get a car inspection in Pennsylvania
There are hundreds of DMV-licensed inspection sites around the state. You shouldn’t have too much difficulty finding a location.
How often do you need a car inspection in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania requires that you get safety checks every year and emissions checks annually in some counties. If you live in an area where emissions checks aren’t mandated, it still might be a good idea to get a safety inspection done.
Finding affordable car insurance
Once you’ve completed all of your testing requirements, it might be time to revisit your car insurance policy. You may have a good deal, but we’d guess that you can do better. Use the Jerry app to see just how much you can save.
A licensed broker, Jerry seamlessly generates quotes from more than 50 top insurers in under 60 seconds. In less than a minute, you’ll be seeing prices from State Farm, GEICO, Progressive, and other household names. And Jerry works, too! The average user saves $879 per year on car insurance.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car in Pennsylvania?
No, it’s not legally required to get an inspection before you sell your car in Pennsylvania. However, it might be polite to make sure that everything is in working order before you put your vehicle up for sale.
How much do car inspections in Pennsylvania cost?
Vehicle emissions inspection fees vary, ranging from $25 to $40. Safety checks are done through private mechanics, so prices vary across the state.