North Dakota Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The North Dakota window tint law permits you to tint your windshield up to 70% darkness. There are no limits on the tint darkness for your back seat side or rear windows.
Tinted windows improve privacy, the aesthetic of your vehicle, and may even improve driving visibility. Most states, though, have regulations restricting window tinting for the sake of safety. Windows that are tinted too dark might hinder eyesight and lead to an accident.
To help keep you compliant with your state’s law, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry reviews everything you need to know about North Dakota’s window tint laws.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

Window tint is measured in terms of visible light transmission, or VLT. This is basically the percentage of light that can pass through your tinted window. 
A higher VLT means that more light can pass through the film—which usually means that there is less tint. A 75% tint will let 75% of the light through, for example.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

What is the North Dakota window tint law?

North Dakota enacted window tint laws in 2003 to restrict how dark you can tint your windows. 
The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
  • Front windshield: 70% or more light must pass through.
  • Front seat side windows: 50% or more light must pass through. 
  • Back seat side windows: No limit.
  • Rear window: No limit.
If any window behind the driver is tinted, your car must have dual side mirrors.
In North Dakota, you do not have to get certified film or a sticker identifying that the film is legal. 

Medical exemptions

North Dakota no longer allows medical exemptions for window tinting. There used to be some exceptions that allowed people with certain conditions to have darker tints to reduce sun exposure.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you’re pulled over for violating the window tint law in North Dakota, it is considered a minor traffic offense and can lead to a $20 fine.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

Tinting your car windows will cost you between $150 and $500 on average. Prices vary based on your car and the auto shop doing the work.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free