The New Jersey window tint law does not permit any tint on your windshield or front seat side windows. Any darkness is permitted on the back seat side and rear windows.
If you want to improve your privacy and the appearance of your car by tinting your windows, be sure to check that the darkness is within legal limits. Many states set limits on the darkness so that the tint doesn’t impair visibility, which could lead to a greater chance of accidents.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage refers to the amount of light the window tint film will allow through the car windows. The legal limit varies among states.
Tints with a higher VLT will allow more light to pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint will let 75% of light through, whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of light through.
What is the New Jersey window tint law?
The New Jersey window tint law was enacted in 2003 to limit how dark the tint can be on your vehicle’s windows. The limits for passenger vehicles, SUVs, and vans are as follows:
The tint used on the windows must not be mirrored or metallic, but there are no tint colors explicitly banned by the New Jersey law.
The tint film manufacturer is not required to certify the film they are selling in New Jersey and you don’t need to display a sticker to identify legal tinting.
New Jersey law allows medical exemptions. The owner or lessee of the vehicle must have a medical exemption certificate in order to apply a readily removable tint to their windows.
The tint must only be applied to the top six inches of the front side windows and must allow at least 35% light transmission.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
Violation of the New Jersey tint law will result in a maximum $1,000 fine for the first offense, and $5,000 for the second and any subsequent offenses.