Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Nevada window tint law allows you to tint your windshield above the AS-1 line, up to 35% VLT on your front seat side windows, and any tint darkness on your back seat side windows and rear windows.
While you can increase your privacy and improve the appearance of your car with tinted windows, you must make sure you’re not violating any state tint laws. Many states have limits on window tint darkness in place to ensure vehicles are road safe. Dark window tints often impair visibility which could lead to a greater chance for accidents.
To help ensure that your vehicle is legally tinted, the car insurance comparison and broker app, Jerry, has composed a guideline for tinted window laws in Nevada.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage represents the amount of light a window tint film will allow through the car windows. The legal limit varies from state to state.
Tints with a higher VLT allow more light to pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint is much lighter and will let 75% of light through, whereas a 5% tint (also known as a “limo tint”) will only allow 5% of light through.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What is the Nevada window tint law?
The Nevada window tint law was enacted in 1993 to pose a limit on how dark the window tint can be. The limits for passenger vehicles, SUVs and vans are as follows:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint above AS-1 line
- Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
- Back seat side windows: Any darkness—but must have dual side mirrors
- Rear window: Any darkness
- 7% light transmission tolerance is allowed
There is no reference to the reflectivity limit, but red and amber tints are not permitted.
The tint film manufacturer is required to certify the film they are selling in Nevada and you will need to ask your dealer if it is certified. On the other hand, you do not need to have a sticker to identify legal tinting.
Nevada law allows medical exemptions where a maximum of 20% VLT can be approved.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If you are caught with window tinting beyond the legal limits, you can be charged with a moving violation and fined over $100 for the first-time violation. If you are lucky, some officers will give you a chance to remove or correct the tint applied, provide proof and avoid being fined.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Window tinting can cost you between $150 and $500 on average. The price varies depending on factors like your vehicle model, tint level, and the material you choose.