Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Nevada?
- Where to get a car inspection in Nevada
- How often do you need a car inspection?
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
In Nevada, you must get an emissions inspection before you renew your vehicle registration if you live in Clark or Washoe County.
The 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act was made to ensure good air quality. This required states to implement vehicle emissions inspection programs in metropolitan areas where the quality of air was not on par with federal standards. Requirements are different among states and can also vary depending on your vehicle and zip code.
To make it easier for you to stay compliant, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled a guideline for what you need to know about car inspections in Nevada.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Nevada?
Only cars in Clark or Washoe County are required to have an emissions test performed yearly before having their registration renewed. Two tests will be done—the on-board diagnostic test and the two-speed idle test. This helps to ensure that the air quality of these urban areas is in compliance with emissions standards set by the state.
Drivers from out of state must register their vehicles within 30 days of becoming Nevada residents. The vehicles are required to get an emissions inspection, as out-of-state emissions tests will not be recognized. A VIN inspection must also be done before being registered.
To determine whether you need an inspection to complete your registration renewal, check emissions.org.
If your vehicle fails the initial smog test, you must get the issues repaired and retested. However, if your vehicle still fails the second test, you may be eligible to apply for a waiver from the DMV. If your registration is about to expire before your vehicle passes the smog inspection, you could be charged a late fee. In this case, you will need to get a movement permit from the DMV to operate your vehicle on public streets to avoid being cited by law enforcement.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Exceptions to the state requirements
Some vehicles are exempt from the state of Nevada’s emissions inspection. You don’t need a smog inspection if your vehicle falls into the following categories:
- New motor vehicles on their first three registrations
- New hybrid-electric vehicles for the first five model years
- Vehicles made in the 1967 model year or older
- Motorcycle or Moped
- Vehicles based in remote areas of Clark and Washoe Counties and all other Nevada counties.
- Alternative fuel vehicles (AFV)
- Diesel vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 14,001 pounds or more
- Transfer of ownership/registration if the vehicle owner completed the last test within 90 days of the transfer
- Transfer of ownership/registration between husband and wife
- Transfer of ownership/registration between vehicle leasing companies if the lessee or operator of the vehicle remains the same
- Vehicles registered as a Classic Rod, Classic Vehicle, or Old Timer and driven 5,000 miles or less per year
- Vehicles registered with a Replica registration
Where to get a car inspection in Nevada
Most Nevada inspection stations are privately owned and decentralized so it is very convenient to get an emissions inspection done.
If you need to visit a certified inspection facility to complete your emissions inspection, Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles keeps an extensive list of licensed emission stations and diesel locations you can go to.
How often do you need a car inspection?
You are required to do annual emission inspections before your registration renewal if your vehicle falls under the following categories:
- Vehicle is based in the urban areas of Clark or Washoe County
- Gasoline vehicles (any size/weight)
- Diesel vehicles weighing less than 14,000 pounds, model year 1968 or later
- New vehicles that are on their third registration
- Hybrids in their first five model years
Finding affordable car insurance
Once your vehicle passes all the inspections and your registration is renewed, you should also inspect your car insurance because you’re likely overpaying. The car insurance broker app Jerry compares 50+ top providers to find you the best coverage for the most affordable price.
On average you can save $879 with the help of Jerry!
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car?
You will not be required to get an inspection before selling your car, as the buyer is responsible for passing emissions inspections and getting valid emissions test certificates before registering the car.
How much does an emissions inspection cost?
Since most test stations are privately owned and decentralized, the prices can vary from station to station. The DMV sets a maximum for testing fees each year, but stations can offer discounts.