Nebraska Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Nebraska window tint law allows you to tint up to the AS-1 line of your windshield, up to 35% tint darkness on your front seat side windows, and up to 20% tint darkness on your back seat side and rear windows.
Tinted windows are a great way to enhance your privacy and the look of your vehicle but you have to be careful not to violate state tint laws. Many states have placed limits on how dark you can tint your windows for safety purposes, as windows with dark tints can impair visibility and increase the risk of an accident.
To ensure that your vehicle is compliant with the state tint laws, the car insurance comparison and broker app, Jerry, has created a guideline on tinted window laws in Nebraska.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage is the amount of light a window tint film allows through the car windows. The legal limit varies depending on the state. 
Having a higher VLT means more light can pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint is much lighter compared to a 5% tint (also known as a “limo tint”) and will allow more light to pass through the windows.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the Nebraska window tint law?

The Nebraska window tint law was enacted in 2006 to limit how dark the tint can be on your windows. The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
  • Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 20% light transmission
  • Rear window: Must allow more than 20% light transmission
For SUVs and vans:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
  • Back seat side windows: Any darkness
  • Rear window: Any darkness
The Nebraska tint law also doesn’t allow windows to be so dark that the ability to see into the motor vehicle is substantially impaired, so avoiding tint less than 20% VLT is advised.
Additionally, red, amber, or yellow tints are not allowed on your windshield and the tint must not be more than 35% reflective on all vehicles.
The manufacturer of the tint film is not required to certify the film they are selling in Nebraska and you do not need to have a sticker to identify legal tinting.

Medical exemptions

Nebraska law does not allow medical exemptions for special window tints.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you are pulled over for violating the Nebraska window tint law, you’ll be charged with a Class V misdemeanor.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

Getting your windows tinted can cost anywhere between $150 and $500 on average, depending on where you go. The prices also can vary based on your vehicle and the material you choose.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free