Montana Driving Record

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
You can request a copy of a Montana driving record for yourself or someone else online, by mail, or in person at a Motor Vehicle Division Office. Additional fees apply for online records requests. 
A driving record captures the entire history of a driver’s violations, licensing, and convictions. It’s a useful tool for companies to identify conscientious and high-risk drivers. Every state has a different set of policies governing access to driving records and a different point system for traffic violations. 
If you’re trying to access your Montana driving record, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is here to help. In this article, we’ll go over what a driving record is, how to get a copy from the Montana MVD, and how your record affects you. 

What is a driving record?

A driving record consists of data on a driver’s history, including accidents, convictions, and license suspensions, as well as some personal information. Your driving record is an accurate picture of you as a driver in the eyes of the law.

How do I access my driving record in Montana?

To get a copy of your driving record in Montana, you can make a request online, by mail, or in person
To request a copy of your driving record online, go to the Driver History Records Service and complete the following steps: 
  • Click on the “Access as Public User” button 
  • Enter your credentials, including Montana driver license number and the last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Accept the Intended Use Statement, which certifies that you will only use the record for approved purposes
  • Pay the $7.87 fee with a valid credit card
  • Print the record immediately (it will not be saved or emailed to you)
If you prefer to order your driving record by mail, complete a Driving Record Request (Form 34-0100). Mail the completed form, along with a check or money order for the record fee and a self-addressed and stamped envelope, to: Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430. The fees for driving records are as follows: 
  • Driving record: $4.12
  • Certified driving record: $10.30 (cannot be faxed)
  • Mail record: $3.09 without a self-addressed stamped envelope
  • Fax record: $3.09 for first five pages, $1.03 for additional pages
You may also request the record in person by bringing your completed form and $4.12 fee to: Motor Vehicle Division Office, Scott Hart Building, Second Floor, 302 N. Roberts, Helena. 

Requesting a driving record for someone else

If you need to request a driving record for someone else, such as an employee or a child, follow the same procedure as above. 
However, the person whose record you are requesting will need to fill out the Consent to Release Driving Record & Non-identifiable Personal Information Request found on the second page of the request form. 
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Where else can I find my driving record in Montana?

Car insurance agents

Car insurance companies are authorized to access driving records for customers, so they’ll have a copy of your driving record available. You can try to request the record from your insurance carrier if you’d rather skip a trip to the MVD. 

Online third-party agents

Another option for anyone hoping to avoid the MVD is to order a driving record from a third-party company. These companies often promise savings and fast processing times, but be cautious, as their records may not be as accurate (or as cheap) as those you’ll get from the MVD.  

What is on my record?

Your Montana driving record consists of data in five categories: 
  • Personal history information
  • Licensing information 
  • Conviction/accident history
  • Driver license sanctions
  • Motor vehicle accident history
Your record will also include information about changes in laws and computer systems that affect your record. 
If your license has ever been denied, suspended, or revoked, that will show up on your record, along with any information about legal action taken in response to unsafe driving. 

DMV points in Montana

Montana’s Driver Rehabilitation Point System adds fewer points to your record for minor offenses, such as running a stop sign or speeding. Here are a few violations that could earn you two points
  • Driving on the sidewalk 
  • Following too closely 
  • Unsafe lane changes
  • Turning without a proper signal 
  • Defective windshield wipers 
For more serious violations, the MVD will add a higher number of points to your license. The following offenses carry high point values: 
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol or any drug (10 points)
  • Failure to stop at a scene where someone is injured or killed (8 points)
  • Driving while your license is suspended or revoked (6 points)
  • Holding a race or speed contest on a highway without authorization (5 points)
If you add 6 or more points to your record in 18 months, you must attend a counseling session, retake your exam, or both. Failure to do so will result in a 3-month license suspension. 
If you rack up 15 or more points in 36 months, your license will be suspended for six months. Adding 30 points or more in three years will result in your license being revoked for three years
All points will stay on your record for three years, even for minor offenses. You cannot take a defensive driving course to have the points removed. Although the points will come off of your record after three years, any traffic conviction stays on your Montana record permanently
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

How can my driving record affect me?

Your driving record is more than an interesting document. It can seriously impact your insurance rate, your credit score, and even your chances of employment!

Your insurance premium

Insurance companies use your driving record to calculate the cost of your insurance. One or two minor violations usually don’t matter, but if they see a high number of points on your record they will conclude that you’re a high-risk driver and set a high premium. 
Keeping a clean record is one of the most effective ways to save money on your car insurance.

Your ability to drive

Montana will suspend or revoke your license if you add too many points to your record. Think about the trouble and expense caused by a suspension—you’ll have to get alternate transportation for commuting, errand-running, and much more.
Most people feel incentivized to keep a clean record to avoid such a hassle.

Your credit rating

Just having points on your record won’t affect your credit score—but failing to pay tickets on time will. 
If you don’t pay your traffic tickets promptly, your credit score could plummet (especially if the unpaid fine is sent to a collections agency). 

Your job prospects

If you drive for work, it’s important to keep a clean record. Prospective employers can request a copy of your record, and if they see major violations (or even a pattern of minor infractions), you’ll have a hard time landing a job. 
Remember, even after the points come off, convictions are permanent on your Montana record.

What is the difference between driving records in each state?

Your driving record is linked to the Motor Vehicle Division in the state where you’re registered to drive. Any violations or accidents, even if they happen across state lines, will be recorded in your home state. 
Every state follows slightly different rules when it comes to keeping and sharing records of driving history. However, almost all states belong to the Driver License Compact (DLC), an agreement through which state governments exchange information about accidents and drivers. 

Which states don’t share driving records?

Only 5 states are not part of the DLC
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin
If you happen to commit a violation while in one of these states, don’t assume it won’t end up on your Montana driving record! All states have some method of exchanging that information, so drive carefully wherever you are. 
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free