Missouri Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Missouri, you must get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every two years, unless your vehicle is exempt. If you buy a car from a different state or country, you may also need to get an identification number/odometer reading inspection.
As an attempt to improve air quality across the U.S., a 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act urged states to implement vehicle emissions inspections in urban areas. Different states have different inspection requirements, so it can sometimes be difficult to figure out which tests you need to get for your car and how often you need to get them done.
That’s why the car insurance comparison app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about car inspections in Missouri.

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Missouri?

When you register a vehicle or renew your current registration in Missouri, you are required to get a safety inspection.
You will also need to get an emissions inspection if your vehicle is registered in one of the following areas:
  • The city of St. Louis
  • St. Louis County
  • St. Charles County
  • Franklin County
  • Jefferson County
If you buy a car that was previously registered in another state or country, you will need to get a vehicle identification number/odometer reading inspection (ID/OD) in order to receive a title for the vehicle.

Exceptions to the state requirements

The following vehicles are exempt from Missouri’s safety inspection requirements:
  • New vehicles
  • Trailers
  • Vehicles or RVs over 8,500 pounds
  • Motorcycles
  • Vehicles over 25 years old (unless they are sold)
  • Vehicles that are driven under 12,000 miles between safety inspections
  • Interstate commerce vehicles
  • Vehicles sold to junkyards, salvage yards, or otherwise sold for the purpose of rebuilding
  • Vehicles sold from one dealership to another
  • Vehicles sold at public auction
  • Gasoline-powered low-speed vehicles
  • Vehicles with historic plates or street rod plates
  • School buses and shuttle buses
  • Alternative fuel vehicles
The following vehicles are exempt from Missouri’s emissions requirement:
  • Vehicles that are under 10 years old and have fewer than 150,000 miles on the odometer
  • Vehicles that weigh over 26,000 pounds and have been registered for less than 12 months
  • Trailers
  • Interstate commerce vehicles
  • Vehicles with historic plates
  • Vehicles sold to junkyards, salvage yards, or otherwise sold for the purpose of rebuilding
  • Vehicles sold from one dealership to another
  • Low-speed vehicles
ID/OD inspections are not required on vehicles transferred on a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) instead of a title.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Where to get a car inspection in Missouri

You can get a safety inspection or an ID/OD inspection at one of the official safety inspection stations located across the state. 
Emissions tests can be performed at official emissions inspection stations within the counties where emissions tests are required. Several of these stations also perform safety inspections.

How often do you need a car inspection?

You will need to get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every two years
The inspection schedule is based on your vehicle’s model year. Cars with even model years (ex: 2010) must be inspected during even years (ex: 2022, 2024, etc.), and cars with odd model years (ex: 2011) must be inspected during odd years (ex: 2021, 2023, etc).

Finding affordable car insurance

Along with staying up to date on your car inspections, it’s important to take care of your vehicle by finding the right car insurance policy. Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you. 
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to worry about it. They even help cancel your old policy! 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Yes. You will need to get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection no more than 60 days before selling your car.
A safety inspection in Missouri costs $12.
An emissions test (smog check) in Missouri costs $24.
The ID/OD check is included in the $14.50 fee you pay when you apply for a title.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free