You can request a certified copy of your Mississippi driving record by mail or in person at your local DMV office for $11 or view an unofficial copy online for an additional fee.
Your driving record contains key information about you as a driver—especially your history of violations and accidents.
Car insurance companies use your driving record in calculating your rate, so it’s important to remember the significance of keeping your record clean.
If you want to access your driving record, you’ll need to follow your state’s procedures and pay any requisite fees. In this article, we'll break down what you need to know about a driving record in Mississippi.
What is a driving record?
A driving record is an official account of your driving history that consists of all your violations and accidents.
Insurance companies, employers, and government agencies can access your driving record, also known as a motor vehicle report, to determine how responsible and safe you are on the road.
How do I access my driving record in Mississippi?
If you want to request your driving record by mail, send the completed form to the address specified on the document along with:
A self-addressed stamped envelope
A certified check for the $11 record fee
To request a certified copy of your driving record in person, go to your local DMV office with the completed Consent to Release Record(s) and pay the $11 fee there.
Have your MS driver’s license and number ready, along with your full name, date of birth, and credit/debit card information. You’ll be charged a small convenience fee on top of the $11 records fee.
If you don’t need a certified copy of your record, you can
request a non-certified driving record online. This one-time view of your driving record will only be available for 24 hours, so be ready to print it if you want to keep it longer.
Requesting a driving record for someone else
You can only request a driving record for someone else by mail or in person. To complete the request, mail or bring a completed
Driver Records Request (Form DPPA-3) along with the other documents outlined above.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Where else can I find my driving record in Mississippi?
Car insurance agents
Insurance companies use your record to evaluate your driving behavior and determine your level of risk. Because most companies will check your record before giving you a quote, it should be feasible to ask your carrier for an unofficial copy.
Online third-party agents
If you need an official copy of your driving record and don’t want to wait for the DMV to process your request, you may be able to request a copy through a third-party company.
However, these reports may be less accurate or more expensive, so it’s smart to check with the vendor beforehand to confirm that you’ll be getting an official report.
What is on my record?
Your driving record contains information about you and your driving history. In general, you can expect your driving record to include:
Traffic violations and tickets
Fines or convictions related to violations
License suspensions or revocations
Defensive driving classes taken
Mississippi does not have a points system. However, the state will still ticket you, and your license may be suspended for failing to pay a ticket fine on time.
Tickets for minor moving violations such as speeding can stay on your record for 3-5 years. Major violations, on the other hand, will stay on your record for as long as 10 years.
Mississippi allows adult drivers to dismiss a traffic ticket by paying the citation fee and attending a defensive driving course. Drivers under the age of 21 may be ordered by a judge to complete an online driving defense course in order to keep driving privileges. RECOMMENDED
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
How can my driving record affect me?
Your driving record is much more than trivia about you as a driver: it can significantly impact your insurance costs, job prospects, and even your credit.
Your insurance premium
When insurance companies check your driving record, your history of violations gives them an instant picture of how safe you are on the road. A lot of violations paint a portrait of a higher-risk driver and lead to higher premiums.
Major violations on your record (think DUI or reckless driving) can cause your insurance rates to skyrocket—but don’t assume you’ll be safe as long as you avoid serious trouble. Something as simple as a speeding ticket could raise your car insurance rates by 20%.
Your ability to drive
In most cases, you risk losing your license if you have a major violation like reckless driving or a DUI on your record. But if you don’t pay your traffic tickets on time, you could have your license revoked for noncompliance.
Your credit rating
It might seem like what you do behind the wheel has nothing to do with your credit score, but failure to pay traffic tickets is an easy way to tank your credit. Keeping a clean driving record avoids the risk of having a fine transferred to a collection agency.
Your job prospects
If you’re applying for a job that involves any amount of driving, your prospective employer will check your driving record. A record with numerous violations could make it hard to find steady work in certain fields.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Your driving record is tied to your home state to streamline record keeping. The state that issued your driver’s license holds your driving record, but that doesn’t mean you’re off the hook for any violations you commit in another state.
The Driver License Compact (DLC) is an agreement through which states exchange information about driving violations. Each state deals with the information differently, and certain states also exchange information with Canadian provinces.
Which states don’t share driving records?
Although every state has methods of accessing information about out-of-state violations, the following states are not members of the DLC:
These states usually have other arrangements, so they may still exchange driver information with other states or territories.