Minnesota Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
There are two options for handling a Minnesota speeding ticket: pay the fine or fight it in court. Regardless of what you choose, respond to the ticket before the due date listed on it. Failing to do so can lead to late fees or suspension of your driver’s license.
Despite being so common, speeding tickets are a serious matter. From fines to suspension of your license and the increased cost of insuring your car, none of the punishments for speeding should be taken lightly.
Each state has its own process for dealing with a speeding ticket, and knowing what you need to do is an important part of keeping that single ticket from becoming an even bigger problem.
Luckily for you, Jerry is the car insurance broker app that’s here to make the learning process simple and easy. This article will guide you through Minnesota’s speeding ticket process so you know your options and what to expect as you handle your ticket.

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Minnesota? 

If you’re pulled over for speeding in Minnesota, be ready to give the officer your driver’s license and car registration. If you comply with the officer’s requests and don’t have a history of speeding, there’s a possibility of getting off with a warning. The more likely outcome is getting a ticket, though.
Once the ticket has been filled out, you’ll need to sign it. Keep in mind that signing your ticket does not mean an admission of guilt. Your signature is just an agreement that you understand that you will need to pay your fine or appear in court before the listed due date.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Minnesota? 

How much you’ll be fined for speeding in Minnesota depends on two factors: the speed you were going and the county the ticket was written in.
The fines in Itasca County, for example, are as follows:
  • 1–10 mph over the speed limit: $125
  • 11–14 mph over: $135
  • 15–19 mph over: $145
  • 20–25 mph over: $225
  • 26–30 mph over: $285
  • 30+ mph over: $385
It’s important to note that these rates are only for the first few tickets on a normal roadway. Repeat offenders can expect harsher penalties and those caught driving more than 100 mph can have their license suspended or revoked for six months.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Minnesota

There are only two ways to handle a speeding ticket in Minnesota: pleading guilty and paying the fine or fighting the ticket in court.
  • If you opt to plead guilty, you can pay your fine online, over the phone, by mail, or in person. Once the fine has been processed, a conviction will be added to your driving record. Expect your insurance rates to increase as a result
  • If you opt to plead not guilty and fight the ticket, you’ll need to contact the appropriate traffic court. See your speeding ticket for specific directions.
Regardless of your decision, you need to respond to the ticket before the due date listed on it. Failure to enter a plea can result in late fees being added to the fine. After enough late fees, the Minnesota Diver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will suspend your driver’s license.

How to pay a speeding ticket in Minnesota

In Minnesota, you can pay a speeding ticket online, over the phone, by mail, or in person.

Pay online

Simply visit the Minnesota Court Web Payment page and follow the directions there. You can pay with a credit or debit card.

Pay over the phone

You’ll also need a credit or debit card. When you’re ready to make your payment, contact one of these numbers:
  • For Twin Cities Metro (area codes 612, 651, 763, or 952) or international callers: (651) 281-3219.
  • For all other callers: (800) 657-3611

Pay by mail

Make out a check or money order payable to District Court Administration. Include a copy of the citation, citation number, or the case number and mail to:
Minnesota Court Payment Center
P.O. Box 898
Willmar, MN 56201

Pay in person

You’ll need to visit the district court in the county where the ticket was issued. The county name can be found in the upper-left corner of the ticket.

How to fight a speeding ticket in Minnesota

Depending on the county you received the ticket in, you will either need to request a court hearing or schedule an appointment with a hearing officer to fight it. 
Hearing officers are only available for tickets written in the following counties: Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, and Washington. Check your ticket for more information on your specific process.

Plead not guilty in court

After following the instructions on your ticket for setting up a hearing or appointment with a hearing officer, you’ll have a chance to enter a not guilty plea. You’ll need to prove that you were not speeding with evidence and witnesses.
If the officer who wrote your ticket does not appear at the hearing, there is a chance that your case could be dismissed
If the hearing proceeds as normal and you are unable to prove your innocence, you will have to pay your fine in addition to legal fees. This will result in a conviction being added to your driving record.

Traffic school

With the permission of the court, attending a Driver Improvement Clinic can lessen or completely replace a fine or conviction for speeding. However, you’ll need to request this opportunity and there’s no guarantee that it will be granted.

What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?

If you’re unable to pay the fine for speeding, you can attempt to plead not guilty or offer to attend a Driver Improvement Clinic instead. If those options are not possible, you can still request:
Do not ignore the ticket. Missing the due date will result in a guilty plea and late fees. If you accrue too many late fees, the Diver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will suspend your driver’s license.

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance? 

It will be a small relief to know that Minnesota has some of the lowest average insurance rate increases after a speeding conviction. Even so, get ready more for your car insurance coverage for 5 to 10 years, depending on the severity of the offense.
Thankfully, you may be able to get a cheaper policy by switching insurance providers—and Jerry can help.
Jerry is a car insurance broker app that will compare quotes from 50+ insurers to help you find the best policy for you and your budget. Plus, Jerry will handle the paperwork, help cancel your old policy, and continue to find you the best rates available when it comes time to renew.
“My speeding ticket raised my insurance to $310/month. Jerry got me full comprehensive coverage on two vehicles for $144/month through Progressive. I definitely recommend giving them a try.” —Brandon D.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

A single speeding ticket shouldn’t cost you your license. However, that may not be the case if:
You have a history of speeding or other convictions on your driving record
You were caught driving more than 100 mph
You fail to pay your speeding ticket fine and subsequent late fees
If you are in danger of losing your license, you can try to request attending a Driver Improvement Clinic instead of having your license revoked or suspended.
Fighting your ticket is only an option if you have evidence or witnesses that will prove you were not speeding. If you don’t have either of those, paying the ticket is the best course of action.
Even if you do have evidence of your innocence, you still need to consider the possibility of losing your case. The result will be the same, in that event, with the addition of court fees and wasted time.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free