Massachusetts Window Tint Law

The Massachusetts window tint law will let you tint your front windshield up to 6 inches from the top. Additional windows can be tinted up to 35%.
Written by Max Werner
Reviewed by Carrie Adkins
Massachusetts
window tint laws accept tints up to 6 inches from the top of your windshield. For additional windows—like the front sides, rear sides, and rear—tints may be applied up to 35%. 
Tinted windows are an excellent way for drivers to personalize their vehicle, adding extra privacy and style. Too much tint can affect your visibility and the safety of other drivers, though, so each state has limits when it comes to darkening your windows.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage demonstrates how much light can pass through a window tint film. Each state has its own rules on this percentage.
A higher VLT means more light can pass through the window’s film. For example, a 45% VLT means 45% of the light can pass through your tint, while a 5% VLT only allows 5% of the light to pass through—meaning you can’t see into the vehicle whatsoever.

What is the Massachusetts window tint law?

The Massachusetts
window tint
law limits the degree to which you can tint your window—and is the same across most civilian vehicles. Here are the limits for Massachusetts: 
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective (or metallic) at AS-1 line or up to 6 inches from the top of the windshield
  • Front-seat side windows: Up to 35% VLT
  • Back-seat side windows: Up to 35% VLT
  • Rear window: Up to 35% VLT
Reflective tint is allowed up to 35% VLT, but only on the front-side and back-side windows.
The Massachusetts window tint law has no requirements for what colors you tint your windows. Massachusetts drivers are also not required to have film certified by the manufacturer or identify their tint via a sticker—though having either can save you the hassle of explaining a questionable tint job if you’re pulled over.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Medical exemptions

Massachusetts allows higher VLTs on the grounds of medical exemption. Applications are initially-determined and signed by a physician, then sent to the Massachusetts Medical Advisory Board—where exceptions are processed and decided. 
If accepted, those granted the exemption will be sent a large sticker that must be displayed on the driver side window (directly next to the driver) at all times.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you’re pulled over for violating Massachusetts Window Tint Law, you’ll be charged a $250 fine.
Massachusetts won’t force you to
remove your window tint
on the spot—but by the third or any subsequent infraction, your
Massachusetts driver's license
will be revoked for 90 days.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

Prices vary depending on what shop you go to, but for most Massachusetts car owners getting your windows tinted will cost anywhere from $150 and $500.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry (It’s 100% Free)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free