Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- MA car inspection requirements
- Where to get a car inspection in MA
- How often do you need a car inspection?
- Finding cheap car insurance
Load full table of contents
In Massachusetts, you are required to do annual safety inspections for all cars, and annual emissions inspections for cars less than 15 years old.
To ensure good air quality, the 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act required states to implement vehicle emissions inspection programs and in 1983, Massachusetts became one of the first states to do so. Each state has its own requirements that can vary depending on your vehicle and zip code.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about car inspections in Massachusetts to help you stay compliant.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Massachusetts?
When you register a vehicle in Massachusetts, you are required to get safety inspections and also emission inspections each year if your car is less than 15 years old. This keeps the roads safe and helps maintain good air quality by ensuring that all required vehicles meet the state’s standards.
To determine whether you need an inspection to complete your registration renewal, check emissions.org.
If your car doesn’t pass the inspections, you will need to have the issues fixed and then get retested.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Exceptions to the state requirements
While all vehicles require annual safety inspections, some vehicles registered in Cumberland County are exempt from the state of Massachusetts’ emissions inspection. You don’t need a smog inspection if your vehicle fits any of the following criteria:
- Cars, trucks, and SUVs year 2000 or before but do not emit smoke
- Diesel vehicles weighing less than 8,500 pounds and made before 2003 and/or are over 15 years old
- Diesel vehicles weighing up to 10,000 pounds and made before the 2007 model year and/or are over 15 years old
- Non-diesel medium-duty vehicles made before the 2008 model year and/or are more than 15 years old
- New vehicles
- Mopeds, motorcycles, and tactical military vehicles
- Electric vehicles
- Construction equipment (pickups or vehicles owned by construction companies driven on MA roadways not included)
- Tracked vehicles
- All-terrain vehicles
- Military vehicles
- Tractors and off-road farm equipment (pickups or vehicles with farm registration plates driven on MA roadways not included)
Where to get a car inspection in Massachusetts
You’ll need to visit a smog check station that is authorized by the Massachusetts RMV to complete your vehicle inspection. The Massachusetts Vehicle Check website maintains a list of inspection stations you can visit.
How often do you need a car inspection?
All vehicles require a safety inspection annually. Vehicles under 15 years old require an annual emissions inspection, as well as an opacity test. These extensive tests ensure that the vehicle is in working order.
Finding affordable car insurance
There’s one more thing you can do after doing all your inspections—check to make sure you’re not overpaying for your car insurance policy. The car insurance broker app, Jerry, can help you do this in under 45 seconds and give you the best customized quotes from more than 50 top providers. The best part? The average Jerry user ends up saving on car insurance every year!
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Do I have to get any inspections for my new car?
You must have your newly purchased vehicle inspected within seven days of registration. Driving without a valid inspection sticker can result in a fine and can affect your insurance rate.
How much do the vehicle inspections cost?
Safety and emission inspection fees should be $35 for most vehicles—commercial inspections may cost more.