Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Maine, you can apply a non-reflective window tint on the top five inches of your windshield and on your side and rear windows, as long as the tint allows at least 35% of sunlight into the vehicle.
You may be interested in purchasing car window tints for greater privacy in your vehicle or enhanced protection from the sun. Since window tints that are too dark can impair visibility and be a safety hazard on the road, each state regulates the legal darkness level for window tints on registered vehicles.
To help you stay up-to-date on the rules in your state, Jerry, the car insurance comparison app, has compiled everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Maine.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
In terms of window tinting, the visible light transmission percentage (VLT) is the amount of sunlight that is able to filter through the film applied to a car window. A higher VLT means that there is a large amount of light that can pass through the window and into the vehicle.
For example, a 65% window tint allows 65% of incoming sunlight to pass through the film and into the car. A 5% window tint, on the other hand, only lets 5% of available sunlight into the car.
Each state has laws regulating the allowable VLT on a legal window tint.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What is the Maine window tint law?
In Maine, window tints on a passenger vehicle must follow these guidelines:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint only allowed above the AS-1 line or the top five inches of the windshield (if there is no AS-1 line)
- Front seat side windows: Must let at least 35% of light through (no limit if there are dual side mirrors)
- Back seat side windows: Must let at least 35% of light through (no limit if there are dual side mirrors)
- Rear window: Must let at least 35% of light through (no limit if there are dual side mirrors)
All window tints must be certified by the manufacturer and non-reflective.
If you have a health condition that necessitates darker windows, you can apply for a medical exemption from the State Police.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If you are caught driving with car windows that are too dark, you will have to pay a fine of at least $100.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Prices will vary from auto shop to auto shop, and certain vehicle models are more expensive than others when it comes to window tint application. On average, most customers pay between $150 and $500 for tinted car windows.