Maine Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Maine, you are required to do safety inspections annually when you renew your vehicle registration. If you live in Cumberland County, you will also be required to have an annual emissions test.
The 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act was made to ensure good air quality. States were required to implement vehicle emissions inspection programs where the quality of air failed to meet federal standards—most commonly in metropolitan areas. Depending on your vehicle and zip code, these requirements can vary.
To ensure that your vehicle is compliant, the car insurance comparison and broker app, Jerry, has compiled all the important details you need about car inspections in Maine.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Maine?

When registering a vehicle in Maine, you’re required to get a safety inspection annually. This ensures that all vehicles are road-safe according to the standards set out by the state.
Residents in Cumberland County are also required to have smog tests annually. For details on what inspections you require to complete your registration renewal, check emissions.org.
If your car doesn’t pass the smog inspection, you cannot renew your vehicle registration. You must then complete any emissions-related repairs listed on the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) and pass the retest within 30 days.

Exceptions to the state requirements

Certain vehicles registered in Cumberland County are exempt from the state of Maine’s emissions inspection. You don’t need a smog inspection if your vehicle fits any of the following criteria:
  • Vehicles that are driven 1,000 miles or less  
  • Motorcycles and mopeds
  • Maine-registered antique vehicles
  • Farm tractors
  • Fish trucks
  • Wood trucks
  • Island vehicles
  • Low-speed vehicles
  • Experimental vehicles
  • 1996 Subarus (all models)
  • 1996-98 Mitsubishis (all models)
  • 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
  • 1996 Chrysler Avenger/Sebring/Talan, Cirrus/Stratus/Breeze, Intrepid/Concord/New Yorker/LHS/Vision, Neon
  • Ford medium heavy-duty trucks made between the 1996-2003 model years weighing more than 8,600 pounds

Where to get a car inspection in Maine

You’ll need to visit a smog check station authorized by the Maine BMV to complete your vehicle inspection. Emissions.org maintains a list of auto shops that are authorized to carry out such inspections.

How often do you need a car inspection?

Safety inspections are required annually for all residents. Anytime you register a new vehicle you will also need to get an emissions inspection. If you live in Cumberland County, you are required to get an emissions inspection done annually.

Finding affordable car insurance 

Once you’ve completed and passed all your required inspections, it’s a good idea to look over your car insurance policy again. Oftentimes you’ll find that you’re actually overpaying! The car insurance broker app, Jerry, can help you find and compare insurance policies from more than 50 top providers to find the best prices. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year! 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

If your vehicle passed a smog check in your previous state, Maine will recognize that inspection until the sticker expires. If you weren’t required to have your vehicle smog checked, you must have one done immediately after you register your car. To visit an inspection station, ask your municipal office clerk for a permit.
Maine has capped the smog check fees to between $15.50 (vehicles manufactured before 1996) and $18.50 (vehicles manufactured after 1996) plus labor fees. The safety inspection fee is capped at $12.50 outside of Cumberland County.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free