Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Louisiana law allows you to tint the top five inches of your front windshield and apply a tint on the front seat windows, as long as the film allows at least 40% of sunlight into the vehicle.
On sedans, you can have tinted back seat windows that allow at least 25% of light through and rear windshields that allow at least 12% of light into the vehicle. For SUVs and vans, there are no limits on tinting for back seat windows or rear windshields.
You may be looking into car window tinting if you want more privacy, greater UV protection, or a sleeker ride. Dark windows can be a safety hazard, however, which is why each state regulates the darkness and reflection on car windows.
In order to keep you informed, the car insurance comparison app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Louisiana.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission percentage, also known as the VLT, refers to the amount of sunlight that permeates through a window.
For example, a 70% tint allows 70% of sunlight to pass through a tinted window and into a car. A 5% tint, which is common on limousines, only allows 5% of sunlight to pass through the window into the car’s interior.
Each state has its own regulations on the VLT that you need in order to legally drive.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
What is the Louisiana window tint law?
In Louisiana, vehicles with window tints must follow these guidelines:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint only allowed on the top five inches of the windshield
- Front seat side windows: Must let at least 40% of light through
- Back seat side windows: Must let at least 25% of light through on sedans—no limits on SUVs or vans
- Rear window: Must let at least 12% of light through on sedans—no limits on SUVs or vans
Louisiana law also regulates the amount of reflectiveness on passenger window tints. Front seat and back seat side windows must be under 20% reflective.
You are not allowed to tint your windows with red or amber film.
Additionally, drivers can only use certified tint film from a certified manufacturer. You must display a legal tint sticker between the window and the film on the window by the driver’s seat.
You may be able to apply darker window tints to your vehicle if you have a diagnosed medical condition that requires additional protection from the sun while driving. You will need to obtain an affidavit from the state police, signed by your optometrist or physician, that explains why sunglasses are not sufficient.
The state police can bring your case before the Louisiana Medical Advisory Board before deciding whether or not to grant you this exemption.
If you obtain a medical exemption, you are required to keep the paperwork in your vehicle at all times.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If your vehicle does not adhere to the Louisiana window tint law, you will have to pay a fine of one of the following amounts:
- First offense: $150
- Second offense: $250
- Subsequent offenses: $350
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Prices will vary from auto shop to auto shop, and certain vehicle models are more expensive than others when it comes to window tint application. On average, most customers pay between $150 and $500 for tinted car windows.