Louisiana Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you’re issued a speeding ticket in Louisiana, you can choose to pay the fine, attend a defensive driving course to dismiss the ticket, or plead not guilty and fight the ticket in court. 
Since speeding laws vary between states, it’s important that you understand the rules in your home state—especially if you decide to fight the ticket in court. 
To guide you through the process of handling a speeding ticket, car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the basic traffic laws in Louisiana, how infractions affect your insurance premium, and how to pay or fight your ticket. 

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Louisiana?

If you’re pulled over by law enforcement for speeding in Louisiana, you will be asked to show your license and registration to the officer as proof of your legal right to drive. While you may be let go with a verbal warning, there’s a chance the officer will write you a speeding ticket
In Louisiana, the amount you are fined for speeding is not shown on the ticket. You’ll need to contact the parish court to find out how much you owe. The contact number is printed on the back of the ticket.  
You must submit your full fine payment or your decision to contest the infraction by the hearing/appearance date indicated on the ticket—if you are delinquent, late fees or more serious charges may be added. 

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Louisiana?

Louisiana has some of the most expensive speeding ticket fines in the country. In most cases, a speeding ticket in Louisiana will cost you $100 to $300. Speeding fines that occur in a school zone increase by 50%.
Speeding fines are calculated by the police officer’s computer and $2 is added to the fine for each mile you go over the speed limit. If you are caught speeding 21 miles per hour (mph) or more over the speed limit, you may be asked to appear in court—and risk having your license suspended
The table below shows how much you could be fined in Louisiana for a speeding ticket. Note that the maximum fine shows what you might pay if you are ordered to pay court costs—which usually average $165.00 per ticket, plus a $5 fee toward the Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund.
TicketBase feeSchool zone fineMaximum fine
1 - 9 mph over speed limit$115$172.50$285
10 - 14 mph over speed limit$215$322.50$385
15 - 20 mph over speed limit$240$360$410
21 mph or over>$240>$360Possible court appearance/license suspension
These are estimates for speeding citations—speeding ticket fines vary from county to county. Depending on where you receive your ticket, the fine could be even higher. 
 
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Options for handling a speeding ticket in Louisiana

Anyone who is issued a speeding ticket in Louisiana can:
 
  • Pay the fine indicated on the ticket
  • Request dismissal of the ticket by taking a defensive driving course
  • Fight the ticket
 
Remember, you must submit your payment or decision to contest the ticket by the hearing/appearance due date shown on the ticket to avoid higher fines or additional charges. 

How to pay your speeding ticket in Louisiana 

As long as you haven’t been ordered to appear in court and are financially able, paying your speeding ticket in full is the fastest way to resolve the situation. 
Depending on where you were ticketed in Louisiana, you may be able to pay your traffic ticket either online, by mail, or in person. Paying your ticket is an admission of guilt.

Request to take a defensive driving course

If you want to have your speeding ticket dismissed, you can ask the court’s permission to take a defensive driving course. If eligible, you can take the course in person or online for $29.95. 
Once you’ve completed this program, the speeding ticket is dismissed and will no longer show up on your driving record. 

What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket in Louisiana?

Due to the hefty fines associated with speeding tickets in Louisiana, you can request a mitigation hearing if you cannot afford to pay. This option involves going to court—but if successful, the cost of the original fine will be lowered. You may even be authorized to perform community service in lieu of paying the ticket fine.   
The judge’s decision in a mitigation hearing is final and cannot be appealed.  

How to fight your speeding ticket in Louisiana

If you believe you have not violated the law, you can fight or contest your ticket. Your ticket will indicate which court you need to contact and whether you must respond in person or by mail. If you already have a mandatory court date, you can plead not guilty at that time. 
 
In most cases, you must appear in court before your scheduled hearing date to enter your not guilty plea before a judge. You have the option of representing yourself or hiring an attorney to fight the ticket on your behalf. 
If you are found not guilty, the case is immediately dismissed and you will not have to pay the fine on the speeding ticket. The infraction will vanish from your driving record. 
If the court finds you guilty, you will be obligated to:
  • Pay the ticket fine in the full amount
  • Have the citation entered into your driving record
  • Pay a higher cost for car insurance

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?

Whether you’ve pled guilty and paid the fine or are found guilty in traffic court, a speeding ticket on your record will increase your insurance premium. A speeding ticket in Louisiana can raise the average cost of car insurance by 16% or more.

What is considered speeding in Louisiana? 

Louisiana traffic law bases its speed regulations on absolute speed limits and a basic speeding law.
Absolute limits consist of state-wide maximum limits that prohibit driving in excess of:
  • 75 miles per hour on interstate highways
  • 65 miles per hour on multi-lane divided highways 
Basic speeding law prohibits drivers from traveling at a speed greater than what’s "reasonable and prudent under the conditions and potential hazards then existing, having due regard for the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and the condition of the weather."
Posted speed limits indicate the maximum speed you should drive under ideal conditions. If you are traveling 75 mph on an interstate highway when the weather conditions are extremely poor, you could potentially be pulled over for speeding according to basic speeding law.  
“I’m pretty new to driving and I got a couple tickets. Still, Jerry helped me find insurance easily. Thank you!” —Angela K.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Louisiana is one of the few states that doesn’t use a points system for drivers. Instead, the state participates in the Problem Driver Point System (PDPS) which keeps track of violations on your driving record. 
Even without points, multiple moving violations could result in getting your license suspended.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free