Louisiana Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Louisiana, you are required to do safety inspections annually or bi-annually when you renew your vehicle registration. If you live near Baton Rouge, you will also be required to have an annual emissions test.
To protect the air quality, the Clean Air Act was amended in 1977 to require states to implement vehicle emissions inspection programs in metropolitan areas where the quality of air didn’t meet federal standards. There are different requirements in each state, depending on your vehicle and zip code.
The car insurance broker app, Jerry, has compiled everything you need to know about car inspections in Louisiana to help you stay compliant with your state’s regulations.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Louisiana?

When you register a vehicle in Louisiana, you’re required to get a safety inspection annually or bi-annually. This ensures that all vehicles are road-safe according to the standards set out by the state.
Residents in the five Baton Rouge parishes are also required to have smog tests upon the renewal of their vehicle registration. To determine whether you need an inspection to complete your registration renewal, check emissions.org.
If your car doesn’t pass the smog inspection, you will get a temporary orange sticker on your windshield. This gives you 30 days to complete any emissions-related repairs listed on the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) while staying street legal. 
After completing the repairs, your vehicle must pass the emissions retest within 30 days of the initial test.

Exceptions to the state requirements

Certain vehicles are exempt from the state of Louisiana’s emissions inspection. You don’t need a smog inspection if:
  • Your vehicle is a farm tractor or a type of farm equipment
  • Your vehicle is 40 years old or older
  • Your vehicle is an exhibition or parade vehicle that is not used for transportation on a daily basis
  • Your vehicle regularly carries more than 15 passengers and needs a commercial MVI sticker
  • Your vehicle weighs more than 20,000 pounds and needs a commercial MVI sticker

Where to get a car inspection in Louisiana

You’ll need to visit a smog check station authorized by the Louisiana DMV to complete your vehicle inspection. Emissions.org maintains a list of auto shops that are authorized to carry out such inspections.
If your vehicles are registered in New Orleans, Kenner, or Westwego, you cannot have your vehicle inspected at a state inspection station. You will need to contact your city government.

How often do you need a car inspection?

Safety inspections are required annually or bi-annually. Anytime you register a new vehicle you will need to get an emissions inspection. Depending on the county in which you live, you may also need to get an emissions inspection annually.

Finding affordable car insurance 

Once all your vehicle inspections are complete and your vehicle is compliant, take some time to reevaluate your car insurance. There is likely a policy with the same coverage at a lower rate. The car insurance broker app, Jerry, will help you compare quotes from more than 50 top providers and find the best rates for the coverage you need—you can save an average of $879 a year!
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

New residents of Louisiana must register their vehicles with the state DMV within 30 days. They must pass a vehicle safety and smog check.
For safety inspections, you can expect to pay between $10 and $20 per inspection, depending on where your vehicle is registered and how long it is valid for. The smog check fee is $18 and is valid for one year.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free