Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Kentucky, you can apply a non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line on your front windshield and have tinted front seat windows, as long as they allow at least 35% of light into the vehicle. For rear seat windows and rear windshields, sedans must allow at least 18% of light inside and SUVs and vans must allow at least 8% of light inside.
Tinted windows are a popular way to keep passengers and car interiors protected from the sun, and they can also give you more privacy. If windows are too dark, however, driver visibility will be limited. That’s why states regulate how dark your windows can be in order to legally drive.
To help you understand the laws in your state, the car insurance comparison app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Kentucky.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission percentage, or VLT, is the amount of light that can pass through a car window. When you apply a window tint to a standard car window, this percentage gets reduced, which could limit driver visibility. As a result, each state regulates the allowable VLT.
The higher the VLT, the more light can pass through the tinted film. For example, windows with a 60% tint allow 60% of sunlight to pass through, while a 5% tint, which is common on limousines, only allows 5% of sunlight to pass through.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What is the Kentucky window tint law?
In Kentucky, window tints on a passenger vehicle must adhere to the following guidelines:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint only allowed above the AS-1 line
- Front seat side windows: Must let at least 35% of light through
- Back seat side windows: Must let at least 18% of light through on sedans or 8% of light through on SUVs or vans
- Rear window: Must let at least 18% of light through on sedans or 8% of light through on SUVs or vans; side mirrors required if rear window is tinted
Kentucky law also limits the amount of reflectiveness on passenger window tints. Those limits are as follows:
- Front seat side windows: No more than 25%
- Back seat side windows: No more than 35%
Window tints must be certified by the manufacturer and contain no more than 3% tint variance.
Additionally, vehicles with tinted windows in Kentucky must display a legal tint sticker inside the vehicle.
Kentucky does not offer medical exemptions for darker window tints. All vehicle owners must follow the regulations above.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
Violating the Kentucky window tint law is considered a Class B misdemeanor and will result in a fine.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Prices vary depending on the auto shop and the type of vehicle you drive, but it usually costs between $150 and $500 to get your windows tinted.