Kansas Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Some states require you to get an annual inspection, but in Kansas, you only need an inspection if you’re transferring your title to Kansas from another state.
Under the 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act, states are required to have a vehicle emissions inspection program in metropolitan areas if the air quality doesn’t meet federal standards. Each state sets its own requirements for these programs, and it can vary based on region and vehicle.
It might sound a little confusing, but don’t worry—car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is here to break down everything there is to know about car inspections in Kansas

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Kansas?

If you’re registering an out-of-state vehicle, you’ll need to get a one-time VIN inspection. If you have a regular title, the fee is $20.00. If you have a salvage title, the fee is $25.00
Typically, you’ll pay this fee to the County Treasurer when you complete your title and registration. However, if you need to have your inspection performed at a designated location, you’ll pay when you have the inspection done.

Where to get a car inspection in Kansas?

Visit the nearest Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP) Inspection station for your vehicle inspection. Stay in your vehicle when you get there. A VIN Inspector will approach your vehicle as soon as one is available.
Occasionally an inspection may be performed at a designated location. If that’s the case, you’ll be notified at the time that you register your car in Kansas.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

What should I bring to the inspection?

When you arrive for your inspection, you’ll need:
  • Your vehicle. Your vehicle can’t be inspected if it isn’t there. However, anyone can act as your agent and bring the vehicle in to be inspected.
  • The original title. If you have a lien, contact them and ask them to fax the front and back of the title to your local KHP Inspection station. 
  • Documents relating to the purchase of the vehicle. These might include any liens or a bill of sale. Any paperwork needs to be the original copy with no erasures or white-out.
  • Your driver’s license or ID. It’s fine to use an out-of-state license if that’s all you have.
You are not required to have insurance to get a VIN inspection in Kansas.

Affordable insurance in Kansas

You might need insurance to get your inspection, but you will definitely need it to drive in Kansas. That’s where Jerry can help! 
Jerry is a car insurance super app that makes it super easy to compare rates from 50+ top insurance companies so you can save big on the coverage you need. Jerry will take care of the paperwork for you, and they’ll even help you cancel your old policy. Best of all, it takes less than a minute to sign up for your car insurance quotes.
“This app is all about savings! Jerry just saved me $193/month on my car insurance. They literally found me the cheapest policies out there and with better coverage! Seriously, just sit back and watch Jerry work its magic.” —Rachel B.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

No. In Kansas, you’re not required to get a safety inspection.
No, there’s no requirement for an annual emissions inspection in Kansas.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free