Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Iowa window tint law permits you to tint your windshield and front side windows up to 70% VLT and any tint darkness on your back seat side windows and rear window.
Many drivers choose to tint their windows for privacy, looks, and better visibility on sunny days. However, many states have limits on tinting to protect your safety. Windows that are too dark can impair visibility and contribute to an accident.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has listed everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Iowa below so that you can more easily ensure your vehicle is compliant.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage tells you how much light the window tint film will allow to pass through the car windows. Each state has its own legal limit on the percentage.
A higher VLT means that more light can pass through. For example, a 75% tint allows 75% of the light to pass through, whereas a 5% tint (also known as “limo tint”) only allows 5% of light to pass through.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What is the Iowa window tint law?
The Iowa window tint law was enacted in 1983 and limits the extent to which you can tint your windows. The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
- Front windshield: Must allow more than 70% light transmission
- Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 70% light transmission
- Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness
- Rear window: Any tint darkness
There are no tint colors specified as restricted. The law states that the tint must not be excessively reflective, but there is no defined percentage.
The manufacturer of the tint film is not required to certify the film they are selling in Iowa and you don’t need a sticker to identify legal tinting.
Since July 2012, Iowa does not permit darker window tinting for medical exemptions.
Medical exemptions that were approved before July 4, 2012, may apply, but the window tint exemption Form 432020 must be carried in the vehicle the form was issued for.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If your vehicle violates the Iowa window tint law, you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor with a $127.50 fine.
You’ll also need to remove or replace the tint as soon as possible or you could face a registration suspension until the vehicle is in compliance with the law.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Tinting your windows can cost anywhere between $150 and $500 on average. However, this can vary greatly depending on your vehicle, how many windows you tint, and the auto shop you’re going to.