Indiana Driving Record

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Your driving record contains personal information and details of any accidents, infractions, license points, and suspensions. To obtain a copy of your Indiana driving record, visit the BMV in person or mail the proper forms to your local branch.
Among other things, the information in your record may have a substantial impact on your car insurance rates. So maintaining a clean driving record is in your best interest—and make sure to report any inaccuracies on your record as soon as you spot them. 
The car insurance super app Jerry is here with all you need to know about your driving record in Indiana, from what it is to how to get a copy. 

What is a driving record?

Your driving record is a complete history of public records about you as a driver from when you received your driver's license until today. 
Sometimes called a motor vehicle report, this document contains personal information as well as details of any accidents, tickets, and license suspensions.

How do I access my driving record in Indiana?

There are two types of driving records available in Indiana from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). They are:
To request a copy of your driving record, you need to complete a Request for Driver Records (Form 53789), which you can either bring in-person to your local Indiana BMV or mail to the address specified on the form.
A VDR is free to view, while an ODR costs $4. If you’re requesting your driving record by mail, the payment must be made by check or money order payable to “BMV.”

Requesting a driving record for someone else

You can only request a copy of someone else’s driving record in Indiana if you are one of the following:
  • A parent or legal guardian
  • A lawyer
  • A member of law enforcement
  • Part of a government agency
  • An employer completing a background check
If you are one of those mentioned above and need to request a driving record, you’ll have to fill out the aforementioned Request for Driver Records (Form 53789) and pay the $4 fee.

Where else can I find my driving record in Indiana?

Car insurance agents

Your insurance agent can usually give you a free, unofficial copy of your driving record. Before assigning you a car insurance rate, most insurance companies will review your driving record. This means they should have a copy on hand.

Online third-party vendors

You can receive a copy of your driving record immediately by going through an internet vendor, but it will cost you extra. The reports may also be less accurate than a DMV record, so ask the seller if an official report is available first.

What is on my record?

Your driving record consists of details about you and your driving history. This typically includes:
  • Personal information (i.e., name, address, date of birth)
  • Driver's license number, class, and expiration date
  • Driver's license status
  • Driving record points
  • Traffic violations and convictions
  • Social Security number (SSN)
  • Driving restrictions
Minor offenses, like speeding tickets, can remain on your record for up to three years. Major infractions can stay on your record for up to ten years or permanently, depending on the state. DUIs, reckless driving, and stunt driving are just a few examples of such offenses.

DMV points in Indiana

Indiana uses a point system, in which each offense adds to a certain number of points on your license depending on the severity. 
Your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked if you accumulate a specific amount of points.
Some of the most common moving violations and their point totals in Indiana include:
  • Driving 1-15 MPH over the speed limit: 2 points
  • Driving without headlights: 2 points
  • Making an illegal U-turn: 4 points
  • Disobeying a stop sign: 6 points
  • Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle: 8 points
  • Driving with a suspended license: 8 points
Typically, points will vanish from your Indiana driving record two years after you plead guilty or are convicted of the infraction. 
Luckily, the state offers a way for you to speed up the process. If you complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program (which typically costs $55), you can add a credit of four points to your record. You can only take the course every three years, however.

Consequences of points accumulation

If you rack up too many moving violations in Indiana, you'll be classified as a habitual traffic violator by the BMV and face harsh penalties.
Specifically, you will face license suspension if you are convicted of any of the following over 10 years:
  • Two major offenses resulting in death or injury
    • Non-DUI: Suspension for 10 years
    • DUI-related: Suspension for life
  • Ten traffic violations or more, including one major violation—suspension for five years
  • Three major violations—suspension for 10 years
Regardless of the point total on your driving record, you must enroll in a Driver Safety Program (DSP) if the following applies to you:
  • You have been convicted of two traffic offenses within 12 months.
  • You are under 18 years old and have committed any violation that adds points more than once
If you have to take a DSP course, the Indiana BMV will notify you by mail. You will have to complete your DSP course within 90 days, or your license will be suspended.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How can my driving record affect me?

Whether your record is pristine or poor, it can significantly impact your life. Here are some areas to consider.

Your insurance premium

Your driving record heavily influences your insurance rates.
Insurance companies will consider you a high-risk driver if you have even a few violations on your record and charge you significantly higher rates. 
If you have a solid driving record, on the other hand, you’re likely to enjoy lower rates. 

Your ability to drive

If you have a reckless driving or DUI conviction on your record, your driver's license will most likely be suspended. This can also happen from too many minor convictions, of course.
Take a moment to think about the inconvenience of losing your license for months or years at a time—and do your best to avoid this situation. 

Your credit rating

Failure to pay for tickets can cause your credit score to dip. 
If you don't pay your fine by the due date, most cities and states charge you a late fee. If you still don’t pay, a collection agency will assume responsibility for the fee, and your credit score will suffer as a result.

Your job prospects

Some jobs require a clean driving record as a condition of employment. You’ll have a hard time finding work in law enforcement, delivery driving, and other fields that require lots of driving if you have a poor record.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is much more than a piece of paper. Keep it as clean as possible as it can have a tremendous impact on other elements of your life.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

What is the difference between driving records in each state?

You only have one driving record at a time, and the state you live in maintains it. This doesn’t mean, however, that you’re off the hook for driving violations you commit outside your home state. 
Most states have entered an agreement called Driver’s License Compact (DLC) where they can exchange information about drivers and their records. 
So if you disobey the law while driving outside of your home state, the DMV where you live will be notified, and you will be penalized.

Which states don’t share driving records?

There are only five states that are not part of the DLC. They are:
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin
Alternate agreements may still allow these states to share information with other states.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free