Hawaii Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Hawaii’s window tint law permits non-reflective tints with at least 70% VLT on the top four inches of a vehicle’s windshield, as well as tints with at least 35% VLT on the front and rear side windows and rear windshields. For SUVs and vans, any tint darkness is permitted on rear side windows and rear windshields. 
Many drivers choose to tint their windows in order to enhance their car’s appearance and filter out distracting sunlight. In Hawaii, which averages up to 271 days of sunshine per year, tinted windows can be a lifesaver—but if your window tint is too dark, it could limit visibility and lead to accidents. To ensure safety, most states set limits on window tinting.  
Check to see if your tinted windows are in compliance with Hawaii state law using this guide compiled by car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

Every state has its own legal limit for visible light transmission percentage, or VLT. This refers to the amount of light that can pass through a tinted window. Windows with a higher VLT allow more light into the vehicle. 
Let’s take an example. A 5% VLT is sometimes referred to as “limo tint” because limousines have very heavily tinted windows to permit greater privacy for passengers. These windows allow just 5% of visible light to pass through the film. By contrast, windows with a 75% VLT would let in 75% of the light. 

What is the Hawaii window tint law?

The Hawaii window tint law enacted in 1989 permits the following levels of tint for the windows of passenger vehicles:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint on the top 4 inches of the windshield
  • Front seat side windows: Minimum 35% VLT
  • Back seat side windows: Minimum 35% VLT for sedans; no limit for vans and SUVs
  • Rear window: Minimum 35% VLT for sedans; no limit for vans and SUVs
You may select tint in any color, and you are not required to display a sticker to identify legal tinting. However, Hawaii requires window tint installers to issue a certificate of compliance to the customer, which must be stored in the vehicle at all times. 
Key Takeaway If you drive with tinted windows in Hawaii, make sure to keep your certificate of compliance with your proof of insurance and registration. 

Medical exemptions

Hawaii does not offer medical exemptions for darker window tints. 

Penalties for violating the window tint law

Vehicle owners pulled over for noncompliance with Hawaii window tint law can be fined between $250 and $500. The fines for business owners are $500 to $1,000
RECOMMENDED
Jerry automatically checks if you are paying the lowest price for your insurance, for free.
Instantly compare top insurance companies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What insurance do you want to compare?

FAQs

It generally costs between $150 and $500 to tint windows, depending on the vehicle, the number of windows being tinted, and the shop doing the work.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free