Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a driving record?
- How do I access my driving record in Georgia?
- Where else can I find my driving record in Georgia?
- What is on my record?
- How can my driving record affect me?
- What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Load full table of contents
A Georgia driving record contains some personal information and public records of your infractions, accidents, tickets, license suspensions, and the like. You can obtain a copy online, by mail, in person, or via the DDS 2GO app.
Keeping a clean driving record isn’t just beneficial so you can avoid paying fines and fees—it’s also important if you want to pay the lowest possible car insurance rates. Drivers with poor records may see their rates rise by as much as 300%.
Here, the car insurance shopping app and licensed broker Jerry explains what is included in a driving record, how to obtain one in Georgia, and how your record can impact your financial life.
What is a driving record?
Your driving record—which Georgia also calls your motor vehicle report—contains a public history of your driving behavior from the time you received your license, alongside some personal information.
How do I access my driving record in Georgia?
There are four ways to access your Georgia motor vehicle report:
- Via mobile app: Download the DDS 2 GO app. Here, you can view your 2-year history or request a copy of your 3-year, 7-year, or certified record and pay via credit card.
- Online: Visit the Georgia DDS Online Services site and create an account. You can request a 3-year or 7-year certified or non-certified report and pay via credit card.
- In-person: Visit any DDS Customer Service Center and request a 3-year, 7-year, or lifetime report. You will need to present a Motor Vehicle Request Form (Form DDS-18), which must be an original print-out. Pay by cash or credit.
- By mail: Enclose a copy of the Motor Vehicle Request Form and indicate the type of record you want. Include your full name, driver’s license number, date of birth, mailing address, and a self-addressed and stamped envelope. Mail to:
- Georgia Department of Driver Services
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, Georgia 30013
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
A 3-year report costs $6.00, a 7-year report costs $8.00, and a lifetime report costs $8.00. The Mobile App allows you to view two years of your driving history for free.
Requesting a driving record for someone else
You can request a record for someone else if you have their consent in the form of a signature. Call your local DDS branch to get specific instructions.
Where else can I find my driving record in Georgia?
Car insurance agents
In most cases, you can obtain a copy of your driving record from your insurance agent. Insurance companies obtain a copy of your driving record when making initial assessments as to your rates, so they should have a copy on file.
Online third-party vendors
Third-party websites can also get you a copy of your driving record, but these may be less accurate and more expensive than official DDS copies. Talk to the vendor if you need an official report since this may or may not be possible.
Be careful about giving away highly sensitive information, like your Social Security number, unless you’re positive the site is secure.
What is on my record?
Your record contains some basic information about you and a history of your driving behavior, including:
- Your name, address, and driver’s license number
- Infractions and violations, with points
- Tickets and fees paid and unpaid
- License suspensions or revocations
- Driver education or defensive driving courses taken
You can assume most violations will remain on your record for about three to five years, though some (especially major violations like DUI) may last for 10+ years or be permanent.
You can erase seven points from your Georgia record by completing a state-approved defensive driving course. This can only be done once every five years. You also must apply for the certificate of completion in person or by mail.
DDS points in Georgia
The number of points you will accrue on your record depends on the severity of the violation. In Georgia, some examples include:
- Speeding 15-18 MPH, driving with open alcohol container: two points
- Speeding 19-23 MPH, failure to obey police: three points
- Reckless driving: four points
- Aggressive driving: six points
Your license will be suspended if you accrue 15 points within 24 months.
How can my driving record affect me?
Your driving record can have significant impacts on different parts of your life and finances, including the following.
Your insurance premium
If you have a history of traffic violations or accidents, you’ll be considered a high-risk driver for insurance purposes. This will make your premiums much more expensive—not to mention the fact that drivers who have DUIs on their records may find it hard to get coverage at all.
On the other hand, a clean record can help you obtain low car insurance rates and even some discounts, like the safe driver discount.
MORE: DUI laws Georgia
Your ability to drive
As mentioned above, your license may be suspended or even revoked after you commit a certain number of violations. You may be forced to rely on public transportation or rides from others for months at a time.
Your credit rating
Your driving record doesn’t explicitly correlate with your credit score. However, if you are charged fines for a violation or ticket and fail to pay them, the fee will be assigned to a collection agency—and you could see your credit score take a dive.
Your job prospects
A poor driving record can bar you from certain types of employment, including firefighting/paramedic work, police or law enforcement, and delivery services.
Otherwise, employers may consult your driving record as part of a general background check to determine your history and general content of character.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is more than just a document. It can have a significant impact on other areas of your life—so it’s in your best interest to keep it as clean as possible.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
To keep things simple, each driver has one license and one record maintained by the state in which they live. However, most states allow sharing of driving records in order to hold you accountable for traffic violations you may commit in another state.
All but five states have entered into an agreement called the Driver’s Licence Compact (DLC) which makes it easy to supply and receive information. If you’re caught speeding in a different state which is part of the DLC, you can still face penalties when you return to your home state.
Which states don’t share driving records?
The following states are not part of the DLC:
However, these states may still be able to share some driver information through different agreements.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually