Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a driving record?
- How do I access my driving record in Florida?
- Where else can I find my driving record in Florida?
- What is on my record?
- How can my driving record affect me?
- What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Load full table of contents
Your driving record contains personal information and a complete record of your public driving behavior, including tickets, infractions, accidents, and suspensions. In Florida, you can access your record at a driver’s license service center, online, or by mail.
It’s important to keep a clean driving record if you don’t want to be saddled with paying fees for tickets and infractions—but more than that, exhibiting poor driving behavior can cause your car insurance prices to rise, too.
Here, the car insurance super app and licensed broker Jerry breaks down everything you need to know about a Florida driving record, including what it contains and how it can impact your life.
What is a driving record?
Your driving record, sometimes called a motor vehicle report, contains some personal information and a list of any driving incidents related to you, from accidents to reckless driving and more.
How do I access my driving record in Florida?
Like in most states, there are three ways to access your driving record in Florida:
- Online: Go to the Florida Online Driver License Check to review the current status of your driving license and your driving history.
- In-person: Go to any driver license service center or see a court clerk who provides this service.
- By mail: Complete and sign the Driver License Record Request Form. Enclose a Driver History Records fee (cash or check payable to the Division of Motorist Services) with the form, then mail the items to:
- Bureau of Records
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 52
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575
A three-year record costs $8, while a seven-year, complete, or certified copy costs $10.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Requesting a driving record for someone else
If you are the parent of a teen driver under 18, you can use the online driver license check to see your child’s driving history. You must have their license number, Social Security number, and date of birth on hand.
Where else can I find my driving record in Florida?
Car insurance agents
You can usually obtain a copy of your driving record from your insurance agent. Since they review your driving record when deciding what rates to charge you, they’ll probably have a copy on file.
Online third-party vendors
Certain websites make it very easy to obtain copies of your records, but these may be more expensive and less accurate than an official DMV record.
Be careful about giving away personal information like your Social Security number unless you’re certain the site is secure.
MORE: Florida car seat law
What is on my record?
You’ll find basic information like your driver’s license number and address, along with any of the following:
- Previous accidents
- Infractions and violations
- Tickets and fees (paid and unpaid)
- License suspensions or revocations
- Driver training courses completed
DMV point system in Florida
The number of points you accumulate depends on the severity of your violations.
- For example, speeding by under 15 mph or getting cited for a child safety restraint violation results in three points.
- Speeding by over 15 mph or causing a collision due to a moving violation gives you four.
- Fleeing the scene of an accident where over $50 of damage occurred or speeding over 15 mph resulting in an accident gives you six points.
Points usually remain on your record for three to five years, but you can expect serious violations (like reckless driving or DUI) to remain for a decade or more.
- If you accrue 12 points within 12 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days.
- Get 18 points in 18 months and the suspension will last three months.
- If you get 24 points within 36 months, the suspension will be a year.
How can my driving record affect me?
A poor driving record can have significant consequences on other areas of your life, especially your finances.
Your insurance premium
You’ll be considered a high-risk driver for insurance purposes if you have a history of violations. This status could cause your premiums to rise significantly—sometimes as much as 300%.
If you have a severe violation like a DUI on your record, some mainstream companies will deny you coverage altogether.
MORE: DUI laws Florida
Your ability to drive
If you continue to drive poorly even after a license suspension, you may face license revocation, whereafter you won’t be able to drive for a few years at least.
Your credit rating
Your driving record doesn’t automatically affect your credit score. However, if you fail to pay fines or fees for tickets, the charge will be transferred to a collection agency and your credit will dip significantly as a result.
Your job prospects
Most employers at least glance at your driving record as part of a general background check to determine your trustworthiness and conscientiousness as a citizen.
For jobs in which driving is extremely important, like firefighting, paramedic, police, and delivery roles, you will have a very difficult time getting employment without a good record.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is more than just a document. It can have a significant impact on other areas of your life—so it’s in your best interest to keep it as clean as possible.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Your driving record is maintained by the state in which you reside. Even so, you’re not off the hook as soon as you cross state lines.
Most states are part of the Driver’s License Compact (DLC), an agreement to cooperate and share information about drivers between states. This enables you to be prosecuted and held liable for violations you commit in another state.
The following five states are not part of the DLC:
These states may have alternate agreements that still enable them to share driving records and information about their residents.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually