Delaware Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Window tint laws in Delaware allow drivers to tint their windshields above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line and permit front side windows to have a minimum visible light transmission (VLT) of 70%. There are no limits for window tinting on the back seat side or rear windows in Delaware. 
If you want greater privacy on the road, window tinting can increase your car’s sense of inner peace and add a sleek look to the exterior. However, excess tinting can impair visibility and lead to dangerous situations. 
Each state sets specific limits on window tinting, so it’s important to know your state’s laws. In this article, car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down everything you need to know about the Delaware window tint law.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

Each state sets a legal limit on visible light transmission (VLT) for window tinting. The VLT percentage is how much light a window tint film allows to pass through the car windows. 
The higher the VLT, the more light passes through the film. An extreme example is 5% VLT, or “limo tint,” which allows only 5% of light to pass through a car’s windows. 

What is the Delaware window tint law?

Enacted in 1992, Delaware’s window tint law allows certain amounts of tinting for different car windows. The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Minimum 70% VLT with factory-installed tinted windows; no aftermarket tint permitted
  • Back seat side windows: No limit
  • Rear window: No limit—but you must have dual side mirrors if your rear window is tinted
There are no restrictions on the window tint’s color.
To show that your windows are legally tinted, you must install a sticker between the film and the glass on the driver’s side window

Medical exemptions

Some drivers with medical conditions that make them sensitive to light may need additional window tinting to make driving safer for them. If you have a letter signed by a licensed doctor certifying your medical need for tinted windows, you cannot be convicted for having windows darker than the legal limit

Penalties for violating the window tint law

Fines for window tint violations in Delaware vary from $28.75 to $100. If you’re fined for violating the window tint law, you’ll be required to remove the film in order to avoid further infractions. 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Prices for window tinting vary from shop to shop and depending on how many windows you’re tinting. In general, you can expect to pay between $150 and $500 to tint your car’s windows.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free