Colorado Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Colorado window tint law allows you to tint the top four inches of your windshield, and up to 73% darkness on your front seat windows. Backside windows, meanwhile, must allow 27% of light in.  
Tinted windows can be a nice addition to any car. They add a bit of extra privacy and certainly look cool. But there’s a flipside. Dark windows can impact visibility and even play a major part in an accident. 
To make sure you follow all of the necessary window tint rules and regulations, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Colorado.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage describes how much light a window tint coverage permits to filter through car windows. Every state has a certain legal limit. 
A higher VLT means that more light can filter through. For example, a 70% tint allows 70% of the light to pass through. Meanwhile, a 5% tint— or limo tint—only allows 5%. 

What is the Colorado window tint law?

The Colorado window tint articulates the limits for how much you can tint your windows. The specifics for passenger vehicles are: 
  • Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is permitted on the top 4 inches of the windshield. 
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in. 
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in. 
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
The rules are slightly different for vans: 
  • Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield. 
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in. 
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in. 
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Red and amber tints are not allowed — and you don’t need to have an official sticker or verification for compliance.

Exemptions

There are a few exemptions to the Colorado window tint law. Unlike in some states, medical exemptions are not permitted. However, law enforcement offers may allow a lower VLT if they can prove it’s for the public good.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you’re pulled over for breaking the Colorado window tint law, you’ll be tagged with a class B traffic infraction. That could lead to a fine of anywhere between $500-$5,000, depending on your prior driving record.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Window tinting can cost between $150 and $500 on average. Depending on the tint darkness, tint material, your vehicle model, and the auto shop you decide to use, the prices can vary greatly.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free