Colorado Replacement Title

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
To get your replacement title in Colorado, you have to fill out a replacement title application at your county’s DMV and pay an $8.20 fee. 
A title is a certificate that legally states that you own your car. You’ll have to transfer the title if you move states or sell your car. If you can’t find the title, or if it’s damaged beyond use, you can apply for a replacement. 
Getting a duplicate title is typically a painless process, but each state has different rules, so you’ll need to become familiar with your state’s replacement title procedures. Fortunately, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has created a complete guide to replacing your car’s title in Colorado. 

What you’ll need to get a replacement title in Colorado 

Duplicate titles in Colorado can only be applied for by the owner, lienholder, or an authorized agent. To get a replacement title in Colorado, you’ll need to assemble all the information and documents required to submit the application, which includes the following:
If there is an active lien on your vehicle, you’ll also need a lien release. The release must be on the lienholder’s letterhead unless the lienholder is an individual. Photo and fax copies will work, but they must include the following:
  • Vehicle make and year
  • VIN
  • Title owner’s name
  • Agent’s signature
  • Date of lien release
  • Signed under penalty of perjury 
The fee for a lien release title is $7.20. If you’re applying as lienholder but the lien isn’t filed in Colorado, you have to include a Power of Attorney from the owner. 

How to apply for a replacement title in Colorado 

In Colorado, you can apply for a duplicate title online, in person, or by mail through the state DMV or your county’s DMV.
To apply for a replacement Colorado title online, you’ll need to already have an active title and not have any liens with your title. Residents in Crowley or Hinsdale counties are excluded from online applications. 
For mail applications, send in copies of all of the required documents and the $8.20 fee. You can make your check payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue. Mail your application along with the application fee to the following address:
Department of Revenue
Vehicle Services Section 
PO Box 173350 Rm 147
Denver, CO 80217-3350
For in-person applications, bring the documents and fee to the following address:
Colorado Department of Revenue
Vehicle Services Section
1881 Pierce Street
Lakewood, CO 80214
You should also be able to visit your county’s DMV for this service.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How long does it take to get a replacement title in Colorado?

After you’ve submitted your application, you should allow two to six weeks to receive it—though it may be less. Same-day service may be available for out-of-state titleholders.  Even if you aren’t an out-of-state titleholder, it may be worth asking if same-day over-the-counter printing is available for your situation.
The fastest option to apply for a duplicate title, though, is to submit an application through the online portal. 

When do you need a replacement title? 

A car’s title certifies the ownership of the vehicle. A title contains some basic information about the vehicle, like the VIN, a description of the car, and the owner’s name and address. 
The title is mandatory to prove ownership—or to transfer ownership—of the vehicle, making it one of the most essential documents to keep up with when it comes to your car. If you move states or sell your vehicle, you have to transfer the title to be applicable to your new state or the new owner. 
You’ll need to apply for a duplicate title if yours is: 
  • Illegible
  • Lost
  • Stolen
  • Mutilated 
  • Altered 
Be sure to keep your car’s title in a safe place where you can easily access it when necessary.  

Finding insurance for your vehicle

When you’re updating your car’s title, why not use Jerry to update your car insurance, too?
The Jerry app finds dozens of competitive quotes from over 50 top companies all in a couple of minutes. No more hunting through websites, no more submitting online forms, and no more annoying phone calls—Jerry takes care of it all. 
Jerry users save an average of $879 a year on car insurance, so it’s the most efficient way to find the best car insurance savings. 
 “The savings are real! Jerry saved me almost $1000 a year for my car insurance. Was I surprised? Yes. Was I happy? Yes!” —Sonia Z.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free