Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a driving record?
- How to access your record
- Where else to find your record
- What is on my record?
- How your record affects you
- Differences between records in each state
Load full table of contents
Your driving record is a compilation of your driving history, including personal information, details of any accidents and violations, license points, license suspensions, or driving courses you’ve taken.
The contents of your record can greatly impact your car insurance rates—and other areas of your life, too. That’s why it’s of the utmost importance to keep your driving record as clean as possible. It’s also smart to keep an out for any discrepancies on your record, so you can report them right away.
To break it down, car insurance super-app Jerry is here to outline everything you should know about your Colorado driving record.
What is a driving record?
Your driving record is a compilation of your total driving history, starting from the time you got your driver’s license. In Colorado, it’s often referred to as a “motor vehicle record” or MVR. Your MVR includes your personal information, as well as any license suspensions, traffic citations and fines, accidents or license points, and your license classification.
How do I access my driving record in Colorado?
If you only need a non-certified driving record, you can order a copy online through the Colorado DMV. This method costs $9. If you need an official copy, however, you’ll need to order it by mail or in person through the DMV for a fee of $10.
For your official copy request, you’ll also need to include the following information:
- Date of birth
- Driver’s license number if you have it
- Photocopy of your photo ID with a signature
- Payment for the fee
Requesting a driving record for someone else
Unless you are an employer or need someone’s driving record for a court case, you cannot request someone else’s driving records in Colorado. However, if your reason for needing it fits the criteria, you can request in person or by mail.
You’ll need a completed release form from the driver and the payment amount of $10.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Where else can I find my driving record in Colorado?
Car insurance agents
You can probably contact your insurance agency to request a copy of your driving record, as long as you have previously given them permission to access it. Most insurance carriers check your record to see what rates you qualify for, so they’re likely to provide you with an unofficial copy if you ask.
Online third-party vendors
Some online vendors offer copies of your driving records at a quicker speed than the DMV can deliver—but it’ll typically be much more expensive, too. These reports also come with the risk of being less accurate than a record from the DMV. This method is a usually only a good option if you’re looking to double-check what you already know is on your record.
What is on my record?
Your driving record is composed of your driving history details. This most often includes:
- Personal information (e.g., name, address)
- Driver’s license information
- Infraction points
- Accidents, citations, violations, and convictions
- Fines paid or owed
- License suspensions or revocations
- License classifications or endorsements
Regardless of the infraction, your driving record in Colorado shows your complete driving history for the last seven years. You cannot order a driving record for a period under seven years.
DMV points in Colorado
Many US states use a point system for driving records, which assigns a point value to any driving infraction. If you get too many points within a certain period of time, you could potentially lose your driver’s license. In Colorado, the amount of points you’re allowed in a defined period of time depends on your age.
In Colorado, the following infractions will cost you 1-3 points:
- Speeding 5–9 miles per hour over the limit
- Operating an unsafe vehicle
- Failure to dim or turn on lights
- Improper backing
- Failure to signal/improper signal
- Driving in the wrong lane or wrong direction on a one-way street
- Driving through a safety zone
- Improper turn
- Failure to yield right of way
These violations can cost you 4 points:
- Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle
- Failure to observe traffic sign or signal
- Improper passing
- Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance
- Driving on the wrong side of road
- Speeding 10–19 miles per hour over the limit
- Careless driving
The following offenses cost you 6-8 points:
- Speeding 20–39 miles per hour over the limit
- Reckless driving
- Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol
Finally, these infractions will cost 12 points on your record, which is the maximum amount allowed in a 12-month period for drivers 21 or older.
- Speeding 40+ miles per hour over the speed limit
- Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs
- Leaving scene of an accident
The state of Colorado does have any official traffic school options to improve your driving record, but your insurance agency may offer discounts on your premium if you take an approved driving course.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How can my driving record affect me?
Your driving record can affect more than just your driving; it can impact several other areas of your life as well. Here’s a few things it can influence.
Your insurance premium
Your driving record plays a major role in the insurance rates you’re offered.
With several violations on your record, insurance companies will label you a high-risk driver, raising your premiums significantly—sometimes by 300%. Even a violation that seems small, like a speeding ticket, could drive up your rates by 20% or more.
If your record is clean, however, you’ll be offered some of the lowest rates out there.
Your ability to drive
With a DUI of reckless driving infraction, you automatically risk having your driver’s license suspended. Accumulating too many points via smaller violations could get your license suspended as well.
Your credit rating
Your record alone won’t affect your credit score directly, but it will if you fail to pay tickets on time. Many cities will tack on a late fee if you miss the due date, but leave it unpaid for much longer and they’ll have to give the debt to a collection agency. Collection agencies can drop your credit score by quite a bit.
Your job prospects
If you want to be a truck driver, firefighter, police officer, or work any job where driving is a major repsonsibilty, you’ll need a great driving record. These jobs almost always require a clean driving record before they’ll hire you.
Key Takeaway Your driving record plays a major part in several areas of your life, so be sure to drive safely to keep your record clean.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Your driving record will be in the state where you live and hold your driver’s license. Your record would move if you moved your driver’s license. If you live in Colorado, your driving record will be held by the state of Colorado.
That doesn’t mean you get of scot-fee if you commit a violation in another state, though.
The Driver’s License Compact (DLC) is an agreement between states to exchange information about traffic violations and license suspensions. If you commit an offense outside your home state, it will be reported to the DMV where you live—and you will be held accountable if you broke the law.
Which states don’t share driving records?
There are only five states that are not part of the DLC. They are:
Even so, these states likely share information with other states via alternate agreements.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually