Arkansas Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Arkansas window tint law allows drivers to tint the top five inches of their windshield. The front side and rear side windows can be tinted up to 25% light transmission. Rear windows can be tinted so long as the tint film allows at least 10% light transmission.
A driver can tint their windows for privacy reasons, for aesthetic reasons, or even to improve their visibility. But many states put limits on tinting for everyone’s safety and protection. Windows that are too dark can impede a driver’s visibility and contribute to an accident.
To help ensure you stay in compliance with the law, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Arkansas.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage refers to how much light a window’s tinting material allows to pass through the car windows. Each state sets its own legal limit. 
A higher VLT means that more light can pass through the film. For example, a 25% tint allows 25% of the light to pass through it, whereas a 5% tint (also known as “limo tint”) allows just 5% of light to pass through.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

What is the Arkansas window tint law?

Arkansas’ window tint law was enacted in 1993 and limits the extent to which drivers in the Natural State can tint their windows. The limits for sedans are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint on the top five inches of the windshield
  • Front-seat side windows: Must allow at least 25% light transmission
  • Back-seat side windows: Must allow at least 25% light transmission
  • Rear window: Must allow at least 10% light transmission
The limits for trucks, vans, and SUVs in Arkansas are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint on the top five inches of the windshield
  • Front-seat side windows: Must allow at least 25% light transmission
  • Back-seat side windows: Must allow at least 10% light transmission
  • Rear window: Must allow at least 10% light transmission
No sedans, trucks, vans, or SUVs are permitted to affix any mirrored or reflective tinting material on front side or rear side windows.
There are no color restrictions for vehicle window tinting in Arkansas.
The manufacturer of a tint is not required to provide a certificate confirming that the tint complies with the law. However, if tinting is applied to a vehicle, the driver must affix a sticker or decal between the tinting material and the driver’s side window signifying its compliance.

Exemptions

Vehicles used exclusively or primarily for the transportation of dead bodies are exempt from the Arkansas window tint law. These vehicles can have tinted windows that exceed the state’s limit.

Medical exemptions

With a physician’s certification, a medical exemption to the Arkansas window tint law can be granted, allowing:
  • Tinting that allows at least 20% light transmission on both front side and rear side mirrors and side wings
  • Rear window tinting that allows at least 10% light transmission
  • Windshield tinting that allows at least 50% light transmission

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If caught violating the Arkansas window tint law, you’ll face a potential Class B misdemeanor.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

On average, you can expect to pay between $100 and $230 to tint your car windows in Arkansas. However, prices will vary depending on your vehicle and the auto shop doing the tinting.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free